BLOG TOUR | Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Title: Children of Blood and Bone
Author: Toni Adeyemi
Pages: 525 pages
Release Date: March 6th, 2018
Source: ARC from publisher
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Rating: 5/5 stars
Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Buy it now!
I am so honored and thrilled to be apart of the #NowWeRise blog tour, inspired by the book Children of Blood and Bone by Toni Adeyemi. Before publication, COBB was acquired by Fox 2000 in one of the biggest YA debut publishing deals ever. And for good reason... this book is lush with beautiful writing and rich world-building that sucks you into a world filled with magic and blood. I don't remember loving YA characters this much but the cast in this book was so flawed and three-dimensional. Not to mention that this book features an all black cast of characters. This is one of the very few fantasies I've read that have done a good job in confronting race.

This book had no shortage of fast-paced fight scenes, and at times I felt like I wanted to jump into the book and throw down some punches! This book was more than 500 pages long, but I wanted more. Some moments were light-hearted, while others were tear-jerking and serious.

I highly encourage any fantasy lovers out there to give this one a go. It is very unique and diverse, as it mixes West African culture with magic to create an entirely new world and history. I hope you enjoy today's post inspired by the magic in COBB!

What's your maji power? 

The world in this book centers around a magic system composed of different clans that have different powers. Our main character Zelie is a Reaper, which means she can manipulate the spirits of the living and the dead. Look at the graphic below to find out what your maji power is. 

I am a... LIGHTER! 

Image result for light superpower gif
My birthday is on May 23rd. 5 + 23 is 28, which means I am a Lighter! I honestly thought I was going to be a Tider because of how much I love the water, but I'm really happy to be a Lighter. As a Lighter, I can manipulate light and darkness. I think this power fits well with my personality because my emotions can either be really light and upbeat or sometimes I'll be down in the dumps. I can imagine myself as Alex Pettyfer in I Am Number Four throwing those flashing balls of light at the bad guys. 

You may also like:

Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting and go ahead, leave some comments! I'll answer in a jiffy.

© The Book's Buzz . Design by MangoBlogs.